Juilliard Jazz Presents “The Music of Thelonious Monk”

Juilliard Jazz presents “The Music of Thelonious Monk” performed by the Juilliard Jazz Orchestra, conducted by Wynton Marsalis, director of Juilliard Jazz, with guest pianist Helen Sung, also a member of the Juilliard Jazz faculty, on Tuesday, April 5, 2016, at 7:30pm in Alice Tully Hall.

Tickets for the Juilliard Jazz Orchestra concert are $30 and available at Tickets are free for Juilliard students; non-Juilliard students with valid ID may purchase tickets for $15.

Members of the Juilliard Jazz Orchestra are saxophonists Zoe Obadia, Immanuel Wilkins, Julian Lee, Christopher Bittner, and Dean Tsur; trumpeters John Whitcomb, Noah Halpern, Anthony Hervey, and Enrique Sanchez; trombonists Nick Lee, Sam Chess, Will Hawley, and Jeffery Miller; guitarist Lake Jiroudek; pianists Isaiah Thompson and Micah Thomas; bassist Sebastian Rios; and drummer Jared Silverstein.
James Burton III is resident conductor.

Thelonious Monk was a pianist and composer with a startingly original sound. He was one of the creators of the 1940’s bebop style, which developed during his time as the house pianist at Minton’s Playhouse in Harlem. His more than 80 works include numerous jazz standards.

The program features Monk compositions: Four in One (arr. Chuck Israels); Epistrophy (arr. Chris Crenshaw); Bye Ya (arr. Carlos Henriquez); Criss Cross (arr. Ali Jackson); Humph (arr. Ted Nash); Light Blue (arr. Vincent Gardner); Ugly Beauty (arr. Wynton Marsalis); Little Rootie Tootie (arr. Oliver Nelson); and We See (arr. Sherman Irby).

« Previous Entry

Next Entry »

Also of Interest