Home» Tour Dates» Details

JLCO with Wynton Marsalis featuring Denzal Sinclaire and Audrey Shakir in New York

JLCO with Wynton Marsalis featuring Denzal Sinclaire and Audrey Shakir
Ensemble JLCO with Wynton Marsalis featuring Denzal Sinclaire and Audrey Shakir
Date Thursday, December 17th, 2015
Time 8:00pm
Event Type Concert
Project Big Band Holidays
Venue Frederick P. Rose Hall
Address Broadway at West 60th Street
Location New York, NY, United States
Venue Phone +1 212-721-6500

In this much-anticipated annual tradition (not to mention the official Rose Theater homecoming of the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra), the JLCO with Wynton Marsalis offers swinging performances of holiday music. The JLCO will debut new arrangements of familiar songs sacred and secular, from Count Basie’s “Jingle Bells” to classics like “White Christmas” and “Zat You Santa Claus?” Big Band Holidays travels the country annually, spreading holiday cheer in a tour that includes a four-show run in Rose Theater. Extraordinary guest vocalists Denzal Sinclaire and Audrey Shakir join the festivities. A Juno Award nominee and National Jazz Award recipient, Sinclaire is regarded as one of the most dynamic voices in jazz, making important contributions in the continuum of the great jazz crooners. Shakir is one of the greatest bebop singers in the world today, an unrecognized talent with a thrilling voice, sure to send elation through the audience. A long-time friend of Jazz at Lincoln Center, Shakir made her first appearance at the opening festivities of Frederick P. Rose Hall and has performed with artists like Dizzy Gillespie, Lionel Hampton, and Pharoah Sanders. She is also an early inspiration to her son, veteran JLCO saxophonist Walter Blanding. Together with the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra, they share the stage of Rose Theater to celebrate “the most wonderful time of the year.”



Set I:

  • Jingle Bells
  • Caroling, Caroling (with Denzal Sinclaire, vocals)
  • Winter Wonderland (with Audrey Shakir, vocals)
  • I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus
  • Santa Claus Is Coming To Town (Dan Nimmer, piano; Carlos Henriquez, bass & Ali Jackson, drums)
  • My Cup Runneth Over (with Aretha Franklin, piano & vocals)

Set II:

  • White Christmas (with Joe Temperley, bari Sax)
  • Jack The Bear (with Joe Temperley, bari Sax)
  • Sleigh Ride (with Audrey Shakir, vocals)
  • We Three Kings (with Denzal Sinclaire, vocals)
  • O Tannenbaum (with Aretha Franklin, piano & vocals)
  • Silent Night (with Audrey Shakir & Denzal Sinclaire, vocals)