Home» Videos» Talking about the Blues Symphony - Movement V

Talking about the Blues Symphony - Movement V

Movement V incorporates the sounds of New York City: concrete, steel and glass. It’s a big orchestration with many chords but still keeps the form of the blues.

Music Director Robert Spano will lead the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra in the World Premiere of Wynton Marsalis’s new symphonic work, Blues Symphony. The new work celebrates the blues through the prism of different moments in American history, and will be the first work by Marsalis composed exclusively for symphony orchestra. Wynton will not be playing on this piece but will be in attendance.

November 19 and 20, 2009, at 8:00 p.m.
November 22, 2009, at 3:00 p.m.
Atlanta Symphony Hall, Woodruff Arts Center