Home» Videos» Talking about the Blues Symphony - Movement IV

Talking about the Blues Symphony - Movement IV

The 4th Movement is blues. Each chorus features a different American root groove. The 4/4 Swing, Stride, Western Shuffle, Train Shuffle, Church 12/8 and Boogie Woogie are all heard.

Music Director Robert Spano will lead the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra in the World Premiere of Wynton Marsalis’s new symphonic work, Blues Symphony. The new work celebrates the blues through the prism of different moments in American history, and will be the first work by Marsalis composed exclusively for symphony orchestra. Wynton will not be playing on this piece but will be in attendance.

November 19 and 20, 2009, at 8:00 p.m.
November 22, 2009, at 3:00 p.m.
Atlanta Symphony Hall, Woodruff Arts Center