Home» Tour Dates» Details

JLCO with Wynton Marsalis and University of Michigan Symphony Orchestra in Ann Arbor

Buy Tickets or call +1 734-764-2538

Ensemble JLCO with Wynton Marsalis and University of Michigan Symphony Orchestra
Date Friday, October 14th, 2022
Time 8:00pm
Event Type Concert
Project All Rise
Venue Hill Auditorium at University of Michigan
Address 825 North University Avenue
Location Ann Arbor, MI, United States
Venue Phone +1 734-764-2538
Calendar Google Calendar iCal

Wynton Marsalis’s massive jazz symphony All Rise (Symphony No. 1) was commissioned by the New York Philharmonic for the millennium and had its world premiere in December 1999. Blending influences from African chant, New Orleans parade music, gospel, symphonic modernism, and Latin-based music, All Rise is a 12-movement arc built on the structure of the Blues that moves from uplifting and energetic to dark and distressing to Marsalis’s vision of the “togetherness and ascendance” of humanity. Marsalis has said that this monumental work is about “the rise from destruction to creativity, drawing joy out of tragedy, and refusing to be beaten down.” Of the world premiere performance, the Chicago Tribune enthused, “Marsalis finds plangent blues melody at [the] core…This is what makes All Rise cohere even though its 12 movements span entire continents and musical cultures.”


  • Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis
  • University of Michigan Symphony Orchestra and Choirs
  • UMS Choral Union