Home» Tour Dates» Details

JLCO with Wynton Marsalis in Chautauqua

JLCO with Wynton Marsalis
Ensemble JLCO with Wynton Marsalis
Date Thursday, August 22nd, 2019
Time 8:15pm
Event Type Concert
Tour Chautauqua Institution Residency Summer 2019
Project The Ever Fonky Lowdown
Venue Chautauqua Amphitheater
Address 31 Roberts Ave
Location Chautauqua, NY, United States
Venue Phone +1 716-357-6250
Admission $50–80, Preferred Seating Available, gate pass or event ticket required
Webcast Watch Webcast

The exploration of cultural and societal issues has yielded some of Wynton Marsalis’s most impactful work: the 1986 Grammy Award-winning Black Codes, 2007’s From the Plantation to the Penitentiary, and 1994’s Blood on the Fields — the first jazz composition ever to win a Pulitzer Prize. The Ever Fonky Lowdown continues to highlight this close connection between ambitious leadership and uncompromised creativity. Premiered in June of 2018 at Jazz at Lincoln Center, this work’s next performance will be at Chautauqua Institution. The Ever Fonky Lowdown features the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis, vocalists, dancers and narrator. Through this work and the Friday conversation to happen on the Institution’s lecture platform, Marsalis will convey his hopes, concerns, and insights about contemporary culture and society through an historically informed lens.

Special Guests for The Ever Fonky Lowdown include the following:

- Wendell Pierce, Mr. Game/Narrator – Camille Thurman, Christie Dashiell & Ashley Pezzotti, Vocals – Doug Wamble, Guitar/Vocals – James Cabrera, Ian Klein & Muata Langley, Dancers




  1. We Are the Greatest (Instrumental)
  2. We Are the Greatest
  3. They/Let’s Call Them This
  4. The Ever Fonky Lowdown in 4 (with dancers)
  5. I Don’t Like Nobody But Myself
  6. It May Sound Like the Drums of War
  7. Consideration Blues/I Know I Must Fight/Drums of War Return
  8. What Would the Savior Think?
  9. Some for Me, None for You (Instrumental)
  10. The Ever Fonky Lowdown in 5 (with dancers)
  11. Night Trader
  12. Mr. Good Time Man
  13. Because I Want To, Because I Like To, Because I Can
  14. I Wants My Ice Cream
  15. The Ever Fonky Lowdown in 6 (with dancers)
  16. What Would the Savior Think? (Reprise)


  1. The Ever Fonky Lowdown in 6 & 5 (with dancers)
  2. Isms, Schisms
  3. Yes/No
  4. Where Has the Love Gone?
  5. Consider This (‘Bout the Filth We Love)
  6. Everybody Wear They Mask
  7. The Ever Fonky Lowdown in 7 (with dancers)
  8. I Got a Naggin’ Feelin’
  9. The Ballad of Fannie Lou, Part 1
  10. The Ballad of Fannie Lou, Part 2
  11. Why Do We Pick Slavery Over Freedom?
  12. The Ever Fonky Lowdown in 4 (with dancers)
  13. I Wants My Ice Cream (Reprise)