Home» Tour Dates» Details

JLCO with Wynton Marsalis in New York

JLCO with Wynton Marsalis
Ensemble JLCO with Wynton Marsalis
Date Thursday, June 7th, 2018
Time 8:00pm
Event Type World Premiere / Concert
Project The Ever Fonky Lowdown
Venue Frederick P. Rose Hall
Address Broadway at West 60th Street
Location New York, NY, United States
Venue Phone +1 212-721-6500
Webcast Watch Webcast

The Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis presents the world premiere of Marsalis’ new extended work: The Ever Fonky Lowdown. This Jazz at Lincoln Center-commissioned piece is the latest entry in Marsalis’ renowned canon of music exploring America’s relationship to racial matters, a topic he revisits once per decade. This subject has yielded some of his best work: the 1986 Grammy Award–winning Black Codes (From the Underground), 2007’s From the Plantation to the Penitentiary, and 1994’s Blood on the Fields—the first jazz composition ever to win a Pulitzer Prize. Guitarist Doug Wamble and and an outstanding vocal trio of Camille Thurman, Brianna Thomas, and Jazzmeia Horn join the orchestra for these performances, and actor Wendell Pierce (The Wire, Treme) will serve as narrator. Jared Grimes — one of the star dancers in Wynton Marsalis’ Spaces— has crafted new choreography for the show’s three dancers: Ian Klein, James Cabrera, and Muata Langley.
Composed specifically for the JLCO’s current lineup, The Ever Fonky Lowdown will masterfully utilize the group’s virtuosic soloists, stylistic versatility, and unparalleled ensemble cohesion. It will also serve as a sophisticated musical platform for Marsalis to convey his hopes, concerns, and historically informed insights about our culture and society. On this momentous final weekend of our 30th concert season, we’re proud to pair this timely new commission with other treasured works by our Managing & Artistic Director.


Download the Libretto

Wendell Pierce, Mr. Game/Narrator
Jazzmeia Horn, Brianna Thomas & Camille Thurman, vocals
Doug Wamble, Guitar & Vocals
Ian Klein, James Cabrera & Muata Langley, dancers
Jared Grimes, Choreographer




1. We Are the Greatest (Instrumental)
2. We Are the Greatest
3. They/Let’s Call Them This
4. The Ever Fonky Lowdown in 4 (with dancers)
5. I Don’t Like Nobody But Myself
6. It May Sound Like the Drums of War
7. Consideration Blues/I Know I Must Fight/Drums of War Return
8. What Would the Savior Think?
9. Some for Me, None for You (Instrumental)
10. The Ever Fonkly Lowdown in 5 (with dancers)
11. Night Trader
12. Mr. Good Time Man
13. Because I Want To, Because I Like To, Because I Can
14. I Wants My Ice Cream
15. The Ever Fonky Lowdown in 6 (with dancers)
16. What Would the Savior Think? (Reprise)


1. The Ever Fonky Lowdown in 6 & 5 (with dancers)
2. Isms, Schisms
3. Yes/No
4. Where Has the Love Gone?
5. Consider This (‘Bout the Filth We Love)
6. Everybody Wear They Mask
7. The Ever Fonky Lowdown in 7 (with dancers)
8. The Ballad of Fannie Lou, Part 1
9. The Ballad of Fannie Lou, Part 2
10. Why Do We Pick Slavery Over Freedom?
11. The Ever Fonky Lowdown in 4 (with dancers)
12. I Wants My Ice Cream (Reprise)