Home» Photo Galleries» 2010 NEA Jazz Masters Awards (Ceremony and Concert)

2010 NEA Jazz Masters Awards (Ceremony and Concert)

In a concert and ceremony held at Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York, the National Endowment for the Arts recognized its 2010 Jazz Masters — recipients of the country’s largest federally supported award for jazz artistry.
The artists selected for 2010 include the well-traveled, stylish pianists Kenny Barron and Cedar Walton, vibraphone and marimba master Bobby Hutcherson, singer Annie Ross (known for her vocalese as a member of Lambert, Hendricks and Ross), influential big-band writer Bill Holman, AACM co-founder and pianist/composer Muhal Richard Abrams and reedman and international music pioneer Yusef Lateef. Record producer George Avakian also received a special award for jazz advocacy.

More Galleries