Wynton and JALC introduce the Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame

Jazz at Lincoln Center tonight will celebrate the dedication of the Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame and the official induction of its inaugural class of members.
Located within the new home of Jazz at Lincoln Center, Frederick P. Rose Hall, the Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame, which interactively immerses visitors in the lives and artistry of jazz greats, was named by Jazz at Lincoln Center Board member Ahmet Ertegun and his wife, Mica, in honor of his late brother and Atlantic Records partner Nesuhi Ertegun.

The musicians inducted into the Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame are: Louis Armstrong, Sidney Bechet, Bix Beiderbecke, John Coltrane, Miles Davis, Duke Ellington, Dizzy Gillespie, Coleman Hawkins, Billie Holiday, Thelonious Monk, Jelly Roll Morton, Charlie Parker, Art Tatum and Lester Young. Inductees” family members, friends and fellow artists will be on-hand to receive the honors on their behalf.

With a welcome by Ahmet Ertegun and introductions by Gunther Schuller, Victor Goines and Wynton, inductees’ awards will be presented by Wess “Warmdaddy” Anderson, James Carter, Benny Golson, Herbie Hancock, Hank Jones, Abbey Lincoln, Wynton Marsalis, James Moody, Nicholas Payton, Randy Sandke, Clark Terry, Frank Wess, Randy Weston, Dr. Michael White and Bob Wilber.
Also performing will be the Lincoln Center Jazz Orchestra Rhythm Section: Eric Lewis (piano), Carlos Henriquez (bass), and Herlin Riley (drums); Madeleine Peyroux (vocals) and Ryan Kisor (trumpet).

« Previous Entry

Next Entry »