Pre-order the new CD: From the plantation to the Penitentiary

Wynton’s new album, entitled: From the plantation to the Penitentiary, will be released on March 6, 2007. It is now available for pre-order on Amazon.

Track Listing:

  1. From The Plantation to the Penitentiary
  2. Find Me
  3. Doin’ Our Thing
  4. Love And Broken Hearts
  5. Supercapitalism
  6. These Are Those Soulful Days
  7. Where Y’All At?

Album info from Blue Note:
By turns soothing, urgent, playful, and angry, From the Plantation to the Penitentiary distills Marsalis’ recent observations on our modern American way of life as he’s traveled the nation as a performer, teacher, and private citizen. Through the sultry alto of 21-year old singer Jennifer Sanon, he gives voice to the “tattered ragmen” of America in “Find Me,” rebukes our misogynistic entertainment industry in “The Return of Romance,” and denounces the uncontrolled financial exploitation of modern America in which “there’s never enough” in the frantic “Super Capitalism.” The most striking track on the album is “Where Y’all At?,” a rare spoken-word vocal performance by Marsalis, in which he demands to know what’s happened to all the responsible leaders in America.

« Previous Entry

Next Entry »