Home» Tour Dates» Details

JLCO with Wynton Marsalis in Lawrence

JLCO with Wynton Marsalis
Event World Premiere: Rock Chalk Suite, 25Th Anniversary Commission Honoring 15 KU Basketball Luminaries
Ensemble JLCO with Wynton Marsalis
Date Thursday, October 11th, 2018
Time 7:30pm
Venue Lied Center of Kansas
Address 1600 Stewart Dr
Location Lawrence, KS, United States
Admission $40–$60 Adult • $21–$31 Student/Youth

In celebration of the Lied Center’s 25th Anniversary, the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis (JLCO) will premiere a new work, entitled Rock Chalk Suite, commissioned by the Lied Center. Each of the 15 members of the JLCO will compose one movement to capture the spirit of a beloved KU basketball legend. This project represents the first time the JLCO has been commissioned to create a new work as a collective. The combination of the world’s greatest jazz orchestra with the tradition of basketball that runs so deep at the University of Kansas will result in an unforgettable performance.

The 15 KU basketball legends who will be highlighted with individual movements and the corresponding movement sponsors are:

Phog Allen – John & Rosy Elmore
Charlie B. Black – Cathy J. Daicoff
Mario Chalmers – Miles & Paula Schnaer
Wilt Chamberlain – Beverly Smith Billings
Nick Collison – Catherine Holland
Bill Hougland – Brad & Linda Sanders
Clyde Lovellette – Jon & Vicki Jamison
Danny Manning – Danny & Julie Manning
James Naismith – David Booth
Paul Pierce – Cathy Reinhardt
Darnell Valentine – Steve & Chris Edmonds
Walt Wesley – Roland & Joanne Hurst
Jo Jo White – Scott & Linda Robinson and Chris & Jane Fevurly
Andrew Wiggins – Jeff & Mary Weinberg
Lynette Woodard – Venkat & Neeli Bendapudi in honor of Renate Mai-Dalton



  • The Y’s Guy (for James Naismith) – composed by Christopher Crenshaw
  • Phog Allen (for Phog Allen) – composed by Ted Nash
  • Jo Jo’s Mojo (for Jo Jo White) – composed by Marcus Printup
  • The First Lady: Lyrical Lynette (for Lynette Woodard) – composed by Wynton Marsalis
  • D(efense)-Up: The Untold Story of Darnell Valentine (for Darnell Valentine) – composed by Victor Goines
  • C.B.’s Theme (for Charlie B. Black) – composted by Dan Nimmer, arranged by Carlos Henriquez
  • Third Quarter (for Nick Collison) – composed by Paul Nedzela, arranged by Christopher Crenshaw
  • The Truth (for Paul Pierce) – composed by Sherman Irby
  • Walt’s Waltz (for Walt Wesley) – composed by Elliot Mason, arranged by Carlos Henriquez
  • Passing Game (for Bill Hougland) – composed by Kenny Rampton
  • I Cry Before My Country, I Leap Across the Seas (for Wilt Chamberlain) – composed by Wynton Marsalis
  • Miracles (for Danny Manning) – composed by Vincent Gardner
  • The Ponderous Pachyderm of the Planks (for Clyde Lovellette) – composed by Sherman Irby
  • Wiggins in 6/8 (for Andrew Wiggins) – composed by Carlos Henriquez
  • The Shot (for Mario Chalmers) – composed by Victor Goines