News

Wynton Marsalis at Jazz in Marciac 2016

Wynton Marsalis returns to France, bringing a “who’s who” of the emerging jazz scene in New York City to Marciac. Wynton has dedicated over thirty years to educating and mentoring young musicians and this exciting lineup represents some of the finest he has ever encountered. Youthful energy combined with the magic of Duke Ellington’s classic repertoire heralds a bright future for the music.

Featuring: Wynton Marsalis, trumpet; Russell Hall, bass; Mathis Picard, piano; Kyle Poole, drums; Gabe Schnider, guitar; Sam Chess, trombone; Anthony Hervey, trumpet; Patrick Bartley, saxophone; Ruben Fox, saxophone; Julian Lee, saxophone; Michaela Marino Lerman, tap dancer

August 7th at 5:00pm EDT | 2:00pm PDT | 11:00pm CET: Wynton Marsalis and the Young Stars of Jazz
wyntonmarsalis.org/live

Wynton Marsalis and his small group (a perennial favourite of the festival) takes the stage for his second concert at the festival. Featuring Marsalis’ seminal compositions from his diverse career as well as original works by his frequent collaborators.

The Quintet is: Wynton Marsalis, trumpet; Walter Blanding, tenor sax; Dan Nimmer, piano; Carlos Henriquez, bass; Ali Jackson, drums

August 11th at 5:00pm EDT | 2:00pm PDT | 11:00pm CET: Wynton Marsalis Quintet
wyntonmarsalis.org/live

« Previous Entry

Next Entry »

Discussion

Discussion has ended on this entry.