Wynton Marsalis Discussion Forum

Other instruments?

RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 552

Joined 2005-03-05

PM

Just wondering, what other instruments do you play and which was your first? Why the switch (if any)?

JG

Signature

Jurzy Girl

RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 492

Joined 2005-03-23

PM

Other Instruments? You mean..there are OTHER instruments? YIKES!

RankRankRank

Total Posts: 85

Joined 2005-03-13

PM

Piano was my first and i still play piano-hobby!But Trumpet since i was 9 years old!Trumpet rules!!

Signature

Janez Lorber

Kot pri Prevaljah 35

2391 Prevalje, Slovenia, Europa

or

Janez Lorber

Albertgasse 48

1080 Vienna, Austria,Europa

RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 292

Joined 2005-03-11

PM

rhythm is spelled with a “H”, nic.

RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 105

Joined 2007-01-01

PM

Bass Clarinet was my first >.< I started playing trumpet as a second instrument two and a half years ago. Last year, in eighth grade, I made it my only instrument, but also took up flugelhorn soon after.

RankRank

Total Posts: 36

Joined 2005-05-06

PM

Hear me out here…...When I was a freshman (back in 1977—B.C.? A.D.? - damn, I forget.) Anyways…..I was (in my deepest Indian voice) - “Low kid on Totem Pole”. The marching band (280 fools strong) was preparing Maynard Ferguson’s “Conquistador”. A big hit in the late 70’s/80’s. The beginning Trpt. solo was really lame. (I actually DO appreciate it more today than I did then.)

ANYWAYS….I got pretty bored after the first 3 bars….and, trying to impress a female drummer who had big ..uummm….t*its…I mean .. sticks…(drummers are usually the cause of all “unscheduled” events occurring during any given performance.)....when it came to the Bridge….I played it UP an octave…..just to piss off the “senior” first chair trpt. and to get the drummer girl’s attention….AND…I nailed it….Double “D” and all…....