Wynton Marsalis Discussion Forum

Atlanta Show

RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 150

Joined 2005-03-14

PM

I thoroughly enjoyed last night’s show. I didn’t know what to expect. I surely was not disappointed. It was nice to hear Wynton’s humorous side. I was curious to know what type of saxophone Walter Blanding was playing. What made the evening even better was meeting Wynton after the show. He was even more gracious and kind than I remembered when I first met him about 20 years ago. He talked to my mom awhile about her first experience seeing him (early 80’s at Keystone Korner with Art Blakey in San Francisco) and he signed her program. I had Carol Friedman’s book “The Jazz Pictures” (Wynton is on the cover) and Wynton’s book To A Young Jazz Musician. I told Wynton I was a painter, how much his work has inspired me (he said thank you) and how I’m struggling with my work at the moment and asked him if he could write some words of encouragement/inspiration for me. He wrote a simple but inspiring message in the inside of the jazz book opposite his photo. I then handed him my copy of To A Young Jazz Musician and thanked him for writing the book and how it transcends to anyone who pursues art, not just musicians. I thanked him again for everything and shook his hand. Needless to say, last night was a wonderful evening and the experience of meeting Wynton again is one I will never forget. A true class act. I also was able to meet his drummer Ali Jackson and the new pianist (who is excellent) Dan Nimmer.

Rank

Total Posts: 23

Joined 2006-08-15

PM

I was at the Atlanta show and thoroughly enjoyed Wynton’s mastery of the horn. Especially the half-valve and slurring fluency he demonstrated in Free to be and Big Fat Hen.

Two weeks ago I caught him at the House of Jazz for the Full Steam Ahead program. It was truly awesome. I think I enjoy him more with his small ensembles.