Home»Discography»Handful of Keys

Handful of Keys

The Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis and special guests take you through 100 years of jazz piano on their new album, Handful of Keys. Star pianists Joey Alexander, Dick Hyman, Myra Melford, Helen Sung, Isaiah J. Thompson, and the JLCO’s own Dan Nimmer grab hold of all 88 keys and reveal the full extent of the piano’s evolution over the 20th century.
Recorded on opening night of the 2016-17 Jazz at Lincoln Center season, Handful of Keys showcases a band in full stride, burning through electric arrangements of beloved compositions from James P. Johnson, Bill Evans, McCoy Tyner, and more. With guests ranging in age from 13-year-old prodigy Alexander (recently featured on 60 Minutes) to 89-year-old American treasure Hyman, Wynton Marsalis and the JLCO survey jazz piano’s past and give the stage to several prodigies who are taking the instrument in bold new directions.

Handful of Keys

Album Info

Ensemble JLCO with Wynton Marsalis
Release Date September 15th, 2017
Recording Date September 22-23-24, 2016
Record Label Blue Engine Records
Catalogue Number BE0010
Formats CD, Digital Download
Genre Jazz at Lincoln Center Recordings

Album Links

CD Amazon
MP3 Amazon
MP3 iTunes
Listen on Spotify

Track Listing

Track Length Preview
Jingles – feat. Dick Hyman 3:45 Play
Lulu’s Back in Town – feat. Isaiah J. Thompson 12:03 Play
Four by Five – feat. Helen Sung 8:41 Play
Very Early – feat. Joey Alexander 8:05 Play
The Strawberry – feat. Myra Melford 9:17 Play
Hymn to Freedom – feat. Isaiah J. Thompson 5:50 Play
All of Me – feat. Dick Hyman 7:23 Play
Temperance – feat. Dan Nimmer 5:50 Play


1. Jingles (3:46)
Composed by James P. Johnson
Arranged by Dick Hyman
Soloist: Dick Hyman – piano

2. Lulu’s Back in Town (12:04)
Composed by Al Dubin & Harry Warren
Arranged by Vincent Gardner
Soloists: Isaiah J. Thompson – piano, Sherman Irby – alto saxophone

3. Four by Five (8:41)
Composed by McCoy Tyner
Arranged by Helen Sung
Soloists: Victor Goines – tenor saxophone, Helen Sung – piano, Ali Jackson – drums

4. Very Early (8:06)
Composed by Bill Evans
Arranged by Walter Blanding
Soloists: Joey Alexander – piano, Walter Blanding – tenor saxophone

5. The Strawberry (9:17)
Composed by Myra Melford
Arranged by Ted Nash
Soloists: Myra Melford – piano, Wynton Marsalis – trumpet

6. Hymn to Freedom (5:50)
Composed by Oscar Peterson
Soloists: Isaiah J. Thompson – piano

7. All of Me (7:23)
Composed by Gerald Marks & Seymour Simons
Arranged by Benny Carter
Soloists: Dick Hyman – Piano, Chris Crenshaw – trombone

8. Temperance (5:50)
Composed by Wynton Kelly
Arranged by Marcus Printup
Soloist: Dan Nimmer – piano

Recorded live on September 22nd, 23rd, and 24th, 2016, at Frederick P. Rose Hall, New York City.

Sherman Irby – alto saxophone, flute, clarinet
Ted Nash – alto & soprano saxophones, flute, clarinet
Victor Goines – tenor and soprano saxophones, clarinet
Walter Blanding – tenor saxophone, clarinet
Paul Nedzela – baritone saxophone, bass clarinet

Kenny Rampton
Marcus Printup
Wynton Marsalis
Greg Gisbert

Vincent Gardner
Chris Crenshaw
Elliot Mason

Rhythm Section
Dan Nimmer – piano
Carlos Henriquez – bass
Ali Jackson – drums

Special Guests
Joey Alexander – piano
Dick Hyman – piano
Myra Melford – piano
Helen Sung – piano
Isaiah J. Thompson – piano